Air Force

The Indian Air Force is considered one of the largest Air Force in the world. Indian Air Force stands as a credible air power counted amongst the four most professional services in the world. Joining Indian Air Force is a dream for many aspirants. It has three branches the flying branch, the technical branch and the ground duties. After getting short listed in different initial selection procedures, person has to go through trainings provided by Air force in their Training establishments.

What do you do ?

First and foremost duty is to defend your country from external and internal aggression. As an officer in the Air Force, you’re tasked with maintaining the constitution and protecting countries freedom. The responsibilities are a lot, some of them are:

Flying Branch

You will be a Fighter Pilot or a Helicopter Pilot or a Transport Pilot and are part of various peace and war time missions.

Ground Duty (Technical) Branch

As an officer in the Ground Duty (Technical) Branch, you drive and manage your team to ensure that the Indian Air Force remains airworthy. You would be in charge of most complex equipment in the world.

Ground Duty (Non-Technical) Branch

As an officer in the Ground Duty (non-technical) branch you will be managing human and material resources, Ground Duty (Non-technical) Branch  is the mechanism that steers the Indian Air Force

Video Gallery

How to get there

To become an Indian Air Force Officer, following are the Criteria:

NDA (National Defense Academy):
Boys can become Indian Air Force Officer by Applying for NDA.

For this, person has to appear for NDA Examination. NDA examination is conducted by UPSC twice in a year throughout India. Through this person can apply for Indian Army, Indian Airforce or Indian Navy.  Only science stream students (having Physics and Maths) can apply for Indian Airforce.  Eligibility criteria for Indian Air Force Officer are:

  • Age: 16 ½ to 19 ½ Years 
  • Gender: Male only
  • Nationality: Indian
  • Education Qualification: Person pursuing or completed +2 with Physics and Mathematics can apply.

Advertisement Schedule for NDA entrance exam is Dec/Jan or June/July and can be applied from link:

Cutt off Marks (2017): Marks secured by the last candidate in the Merit order (out of 1800 marks)  - 624 

AFCAT (Air Force Common Admission Test):
This examination is conducted by Indian Air force twice in a year. By this you can Join Indian Air Force Flying, Technical & Ground Duty branch. 

Eligibility criteria for AFCAT are:

  • Age:  20-24 years, for Ground Duty (Non-Technical) branches it is 20-26 Years.
  • Qualification:  Graduation. For flying branch only BE, BTech Graduates can apply.
  • Minimum Percentage:  60%.
  • Marital Status:  Unmarried 
  • Gender: Male or Female can apply.

Advertisement Schedule for Air Force Common Admission Test is Dec/Jan or June/July and can be applied from link:

CDS(Combined Defence Services) Examination:

This exam is conducted by UPSC twice in one year. Eligibility Criteria for examination:

  • Age Limit:  20-24 years.
  • Education Qualification:  Degree of a recognized University(with Physics and Mathematics in +2 level) or Bachelor of Engineering.
  • Marital Status:  Unmarried male and female can apply.
  • Nationality:  Citizen of India, Subject of Bhutan/Nepal.
  • Advertisement Schedule for CDS(Combined Defence Services) Examination is Dec/Jan or June/July and can be applied from link:

Selected Candidates are sent to Air Force Academy, Hyderabad for orientation training.

NCC C Certificate Entries in Indian Air Force

By this only NCC Cadets can apply. Eligibility Criteria for this:

  • Age:  20-24 years.
  • Education:  Must have NCC Air Wing Senior Div, C Certificate., +2 in Math’s and physics, 60% in Graduation.
  • Gender: male
  • Marital Status:  Unmarried
  • Nationality:  Indian
  • For further updates click:
Video Gallery

Career Hierarchy


tell me more about it , please

Answer 1 0